Ralph Ellison~ “All my life I had been looking for something and everywhere I turned someone tried to tell me what it was.  I accepted their answers too, though they were often in contradiction and even self-contradictory.  I was naïve.  I was looking for myself and asking everyone except myself questions which I, and only I, could answer.  It took me a long time and much painful boomeranging of my expectations to achieve a realization everyone else appears to have been born with:  that I am nobody but myself.”

Similar to Mr. Ralph Ellison, I’ve been waiting to be found; not by anyone in particular but myself. I’ve been waiting for answers. Hoping they would fall into my lap. Wishing for particular answers, yet nothing comes my way. I finally realized that answers will never fall into my lap; I’m going to have to go find the answers I’m looking for.

I realized that the answers I was searching for were already found.  In actuality I didn’t need to search for them. They’ve been inside of me the whole time.  I was trying to please everyone around me; being someone I’m not was not the answer I was looking for. I finally came to the realization that I don’t need to please anyone but myself. I found myself and being myself is the best answer I could have ever gotten. “He who trims himself to suit everyone will soon whittle himself away.” ~Raymond Hull

Let me know what you think.

Until next time,

Teryn

